Member Login  |  AD Login  |  Follow Us On:

"A COACH will impact more young people in a year than the average person does in a lifetime."
- Billy Graham

Ed Johnson Award (formerly Mike Heck Award) - NCA Boys Basketball

Ed Johnson coached at Lincoln Northeast High School for 37 years and retired at the end of the 1985-86 school year. During his tenure, Northeast's record was 505-202 and qualified for the state tournament 18 times. His teams won state championships in 1950 (his first season at Northeast), 1962, 1967, 1968, 1970, 1973 and 1982. He was honored as the Journal-Star Prep Coach of the Year twice. Ed was named regional Coach of the Year by the National Coaches Associaiton three times and was named the National Boys Basketball Coach of the Year posthumously in 1987. A native of Missouri, Johnson began his coaching career at Lewis, Missouri in 1946. He also coached at the University of Missouri and Corning, Iowa before coming to Lincoln Northeast. Ed was revered by his fellow coaches and former players not only because of his success on the court, but because he was an outstanding human being. The Ed Johnson Award was formerly named after Mike Heck, a high school prep basketball star from Papillion. Heck was the state's first 7'player while being named a High School All-American in 1972. He went on to play fro Creighton University before suffering a fatal heart attack prior to his junior year. The NCA Board of Directors changed the name of the award to honor a coach like all other NCA awards in 2000. The Mike Heck plaque continues to be respectfully displayed inside the NCA office today. This award recognizes a person making significant contributions to high school boys' basketball.

Submit a Nomination for this Award

Past Winners:
2019Bruce ChubickOmaha South
2018Tim CannonMillard North
2017Curt CarlsonNorris
2016Paul Beranek(Posthumous) Ravenna
2015Gary Chvala(Posthumous) St. Mary's
2014Doug GoltzFalls City Sacred Heart
2013Larry PritchettPerkins County
2012Jim WeeksBeatrice
2011Doug WoodardBellevue West
2010Rod FelixSeward
2009Al Schnabel(Posthumous) Lincoln High
2008Del SchoenfishCambridge
2007Charlie MooreFairbury
2006Dave OmanGrand Island
2005Paul ForchLincoln East
2004Larry CoortsAdams
2003Jim MorrisonHowells
2002Mick AndersonWahoo
2001Larry RibbleMillard South
2000Dick KochOmaha Northwest
1999Wes ShepardLincoln Christian
1998Bob EricksonDoane College
1997Jerry EickhoffHampton
1996Bill HollidayLoomis
1995Dale SampyAnsley
1994Bill RamsayCozad
1993John LarsenLincoln Southeast
1992Fred LethebyMadison
1991Fred NorthrupGrand Island Central Catholic
1990Aldie JohnsonLincoln High
1989Hank WillemsenLincoln Northeast
1988Doyle FyfeKearney State College
1987Lynn FarrellHastings College
1986Merle BauerNorth Platte
1985Jerry HueserKearney State College
1984Wally McNaughtLincoln Southeast
1983Gene KrugerElkhorn
1982Ed JohnsonLincoln Northeast
1981John JohnetteOmaha Burke
1980Tom BrosnihanCreighton University
1979Ed ColleranSpalding Academy
1978Joe CiprianoUNL
1977Charlie FosterKearney State College
1976Reuben SchliefferChester
1975Larry FaussWahoo

Return to NCA Awards

© 2020 Nebraska Coaches Association | 500 Charleston St | Suite 2 | Lincoln, NE 68508 | 402.434.5675 |
Website Creation & Design by Gazelle, Inc.