Member Login  |  AD Login  |  Follow Us On:

"A COACH will impact more young people in a year than the average person does in a lifetime."
- Billy Graham

Skip Palrang Award

The Skip Palrang Award was established to recognize a person making significant contributions to high school football. This award is named in memory of Maurice "Skip" Palrang of Boys Town. Palrang coached the Boys Town Cowboys beginning in 1943, directing the program until 1972. Palrang's teams played a national schedule including games in Washington, DC, St. Louis, Phoenix, Los Angeles, Miama, etc. The national schedule was dropped in 1964 when Boys Town joined the Metro Conference. Skip was the victorious coach of the first Shrine Bowl game played in 1959, with his South Squad winning the game 7-6.

Submit a Nomination for this Award

Past Winners
Year  Name  Affiliation 
2019  Bob Fuller  Osceola/High Plains 
2018  Carl Tesmer  Hastings St. Cecilia 
2017  Tim Turman  Bishop Neumann 
2016  Jim Puetz  Columbus Scotus 
2015  Tim Aylward  Lincoln Pius X 
2014  Mark Wortman  Elkhorn 
2013  Jeff Bellar  Norfolk Catholic 
2012  Dick Tingelhoff  Wahoo 
2011  Dan Keyser  Cambridge 
2010  Dennis Koinzan  Stromsburg 
2009  Bob Zohner  North Platte 
2008  Larry Jacobsen  Retired-Omaha Burke 
2007  Riley Harris  Kearney 
2006  Don Watchhorn  Retired Midland Lutheran College 
2005  Tom Jaworski  Omaha Creighton Prep 
2004  Chuck Mizerski  Lincoln Southeast 
2003  Gary Deboer  Lawrence-Nelson 
2002  Ken Cook  Freeman 
2001  Bill Pfeiff  Lincoln High 
2000  Jack Guggenmos  Waverly 
1999  Leonard Bond  Parachute, CO 
1998  Lee Zentic  Lincoln East High School 
1997  Bob Devaney  UNL 
1996  Ed Haenfler  Grant High 
1995  Dan Moore  Ansley High 
1994  Bill James  Bellevue East 
1993  Bob Schnitzler  Battle Creek High 
1992  Bob Starr  Seward High 
1991  Ken Fisher  Grand Island High 
1990  Mike Lehl  Blair High 
1989  Al Gaston  Grant High 
1988  Dr. Tom Osborne  University of Nebraska 
1987  Al Zikmund  Kearney State College 
1986  Vince Aldrich  Lincoln Pius X High 
1985  Lou Roper  Banker in Lincoln (Shrine Bowl) 

Return to NCA Awards

© 2020 Nebraska Coaches Association | 500 Charleston St | Suite 2 | Lincoln, NE 68508 | 402.434.5675 |
Website Creation & Design by Gazelle, Inc.