## MEDIA RELEASE JANUARY, 20, 2015 FROM THE NEBRASKA COACHES ASSOCIATION

## NEBRASKA HIGH SCHOOL COACHES NAMED AS NATIONAL COACH OF THE YEAR FINALISTS

The National High School Athletic Coaches Association (NHSACA) and the Nebraska Coaches Association (NCA) announced the advancement of 13 coaches and an athletic director as finalists for the National High School Athletic Coaches Association national coach of the year:

Chad	Lyons	McCook	Assistant Coach of the Year - Boys'
Ann	Purdy	Northwest	Assistant Coach of the Year - Girls'
Bill	Fitzgerald	Fremont	Athletic Director
Bob	Greco	Omaha Westside	Baseball
Russ	Ninemire	Sandy Creek	Girls' Basketball
Jim	Barker	Scottsbluff	Boys' Cross Country
Todd	Nott	Plattsmouth	Girls' Cross Country
Mark	Wortman	Elkhorn	Football
Darrel	Hoffman	Beatrice	Golf
Terry	Graver	Elkhorn South	Softball
Steve	Bischof	Elkhorn South	Tennis
Dave	Sellon	Fremont	Boys' Track & Field
Alan	VanCura	Hastings St. Cecilia	Volleyball
Doug	Denson	Millard South	Wrestling

Eight finalists from across the nation, in nineteen recognized sports categories will be honored during the National Coach of the Year Awards Banquet which will take place at the NHSACA's national convention at the Kahler Grand Hotel in Rochester, MN on the evening of June 20, 2015. The highlight of the banquet will be the naming of the NHSACA national coach of the year in nineteen recognized sports categories.

All Nebraska coaches were selected for this national honor by the NCA. The selection is based on longevity, service to high school athletics, honors, championship years, and winning parentage. The nominees and finalists are evaluated by experts in the field of coaching using a sport-specific rubrics to assign points in each category. NHSACA is the oldest coaches association in the nation formed by coaches, for coaches, and has been recognizing national coaches of the year since 1978.