## MEDIA RELEASE REVISED: FEBRUARY 3, 2025 FROM: NEBRASKA COACHES ASSOCIATION

## NEBRASKA HIGH SCHOOL COACHES NAMED AS NATIONAL COACH OF THE YEAR FINALISTS TWO NEBRASKA PREP COACHES TO BE INDUCTED INTO NATIONAL HALL OF FAME

The National High School Athletic Coaches Association (NHSACA) and the Nebraska Coaches Association (NCA) announce the advancement of 13 coaches as finalists for the National High School Athletic Coaches Association national coach of the year. The nominations were based on each coach's <u>career accomplishments through the 2023-2024 athletic</u> <u>seasons</u> (not retired more than two years prior). Two former Nebraska prep coaches will be honored by being inducted into the national high school coaching hall of fame as well.

| John    | Miller   | Boys Basketball        | Stuart           |
|---------|----------|------------------------|------------------|
| Sean    | McMahon  | Boys Cross Country     | Fremont          |
| Steve   | Reeves   | Boys Track and Field   | Gothenburg       |
| John    | Bacus    | Boys Assistant         | Elkhorn          |
| Becky   | Costello | Girls Assistant        | Gothenburg       |
| Tom     | Tvrdy    | Girls Basketball       | Omaha Marian     |
| Duane   | Wilken   | Girls Cross Country    | Bloomfield       |
| Nancy   | Lockmon  | Girls Track and Field  | Giltner          |
| Steve   | Kerkman  | Softball               | Millard South    |
| Stefani | Lane     | Special Sports - Cheer | Millard West     |
| Chris   | Stock    | Tennis                 | Lincoln East     |
| Kris    | Conner   | Volleyball             | Kearney Catholic |
| Alan    | Pokorny  | Wrestling              | Bennington       |

Eight finalists from across the nation, in nineteen recognized sports categories will be honored during the National Coach of the Year Awards Banquet which will take place at the NHSACA's national convention) in Rapid City, South Dakota on the evening of June 25. The highlight of the banquet will be the naming of the NHSACA national coach of the year in each sports category.

All Nebraska coaches were nominated for this national honor by the Nebraska Coaches Association. **The selection is based on the following: career longevity, service to high school athletics, honors, championship years, and winning percentage.** The nominees and finalists are evaluated by experts in the field of coaching using sport-specific rubrics to assign points in each category. NHSACA is the oldest coaches' association in the nation formed by coaches, for coaches, and has been recognizing national coaches of the year since 1978.

**NATIONAL HALL OF FAME:** Two legendary Nebraska coaches; **Tom McCann, Kearney** and **Dan Sorge, Shickley** will be inducted into the national high school coaching hall of fame at the same NHSACA Convention. Hall of Fame ceremonies will take place in Rapid City, South Dakota on June 24.